A clear division of responsibilities at the head of the company ensures a balance of authority. No individual has unfettered powers of decision-making, and no block of individuals can dominate the Board. Our Board Charter stipulates that operation of the Board and the executive responsibility for running the business are separate tasks.

MH Jonas

Independent Non-Executive Chairman

BA History & Sociology (Vista University), HDip Education (Rhodes University)

KDK Mokhele

Lead Independent Non-Executive Director

BSc Agriculture, MSc Food Science, PhD Microbiology and a number of honorary doctorates from various institutions

HRH Lamido Sanusi

Independent Non-Executive Director

Bachelor’s degree in Economics and Master’s degree in economics: University (ABU) in Zaria
Islamic law degree: International University of Africa in Khartoum,
National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) service: Gongola State (now Adamawa and Taraba States)

P Hanratty

Independent Non-Executive Director

BBusSc Hons, Fellow of Institute of Actuaries, Advanced Management Programme (Harvard Business School)

S Miller

Independent Non-Executive Director

IntDip (Institute of Certified Bookkeepers – SA), Diploma Law & Administration (UNISA), Proteus Leadership Programme (London Business School)

NL Sowazi

Independent Non-Executive Director

Masters Degree (University of California, Los Angeles)

NP Mageza

Independent Non-Executive Director


AT Mikati

Non-Executive Director

BSc Civil Engineering & Engineering Mechanics (Columbia University)

KC Ramon

Independent Non-Executive Director

BCompt, BCompt Hons, CA (SA), Senior Executive Programme

MLD Marole

Independent Non-Executive Director

BCom Acc, Dip Tertiary Education, MBA, Executive Leadership Development Programme

S Kheradpir

Independent Non-Executive Director

BA, Masters & PhD Electrical Engineering (Cornell University)

R Shuter

Executive Director

BCom CA (SA), PGDip Accounting & Finance (University of KwaZulu-Natal), BCom Economics & Accounting (University of Cape Town)

R Mupita

Executive Director

BSc Engineering Hons (University of Cape Town), MBA (University of Cape Town), General Management Programme (Harvard Busines School)

BS Tshabalala

Independent Non-Executive Director

MBA (Babcock School of Management), Oxford Fintech Programme

VM Rague

Independent Non-Executive Director

MBA: Darden Business School, University of Virginia and BA; Hons – Econ/Statistics) from the University of Nairobi; Executive development programs at the Harvard Business School, Boston, USA; and IMD, Lausanne, Switzerland

Further reading